2021 Dana Crawford and State Honor Awards Celebration

Dana Crawford & State Honor Awards 2021

Representing a bright spot during a challenging year for so many, Colorado Preservation, Inc. was honored to host this year’s Dana Crawford & State Honor Awards as an intimate, sold-out in-person gathering at Four Mile Historic Park on June 8, with 150 individuals joining in the celebration to recognize Dana Crawford Award recipients, Peter and Deedee Decker in addition to five other awardees.

Colorado Preservation, Inc.’s annual Dana Crawford & State Honor Awards is Colorado’s premier statewide preservation awards event, honoring individuals, organizations, public agencies, and businesses from across the state, whose work demonstrates excellence in historic preservation. Accomplishments are recognized in the areas of preservation, rehabilitation, stewardship, leadership, and philanthropy.

2021 Dana Crawford Award of Excellence

Peter and Deedee Decker

Colorado Preservation, Inc. (CPI) presented the 2021 Dana Crawford Award of Excellence to Peter and Deedee Decker. With heavy hearts, this award comes posthumously for Peter, who we lost in December at 86. As stated in Peter’s obituary, “[To them,] the West was more than a place but a landscape, a lifestyle, a culture, and a home.” Peter and Deedee moved to the Double D Ranch in Ridgway in 1974. They were among the first to secure a conservation easement through Colorado Cattlemen’s Agricultural Land Trust on the Double D Ranch in 1996, protecting the property in perpetuity from development. The Deckers were critical to the early founding of CPI; Deedee was one of CPI’s founding members in 1985. She helped create and develop the inaugural Dana Crawford and State Honor Awards.

2021 State Honor Awards

Dr. Bonnie Clark (University of Denver)

2021 State Honor Awardee

Santa Maria Ranch (Park County)

2021 State Honor Awardee

Space to Create Trinidad (Las Animas County)

2021 State Honor Awardee

2021 Endangered Places Progress Award

Paris Mill (Park County)

2021 Endangered Places Progress Awardee

2021 Preservation Edge Award

Jessup Farm Artisan Village (Larimer County)

2021 Preservation Edge Awardee

Thank You to Our Sponsors

Dana Crawford Sponsor

Preservation Champion Sponsors

Clear Image Media

Supporting Sponsors

Richard G. and Mary Lyn Ballantine, Durango, CO
Deedee Decker
Sally Pearce and The Friends of Santa Maria Ranch and The Deckers

Patron Sponsors

Linda Boden
Georgianna and Robert Contiguglia
Ann Corrigan
Roxanne Eflin
Mona and John Ferrugia
JVA, Inc.
Katherine Loo
Ann Mullins
Hazel and Doug Price
Jill Seyfarth
Lucas Schneider and Marissa Ronk
Spectrum General Contractors
Tax Credit Connection
Watkins Stained Glass

Event Donors

Kathleen Andrews
Sue Anschutz-Rodgers
E. Susan Bickert
Christine Britton
Jennifer Buddenborg
Dan Corson
Margaret Coval
Dana Crawford
Deedee Decker
James E. Fell, Jr.
Carla and Pat Grant
Rhondda and Peter Grant
Kaaren Hardy
Cheyenne Johnson
Susie Johnson
James X. and Joan Kroll
Alan Matlosz
Evan Metcalf
Karen L. Onderko
Robert and Barb Pahl
Patricia Pascoe
Chris Pfaff
Phil and Bea Rico
Richard and Mary Schaefer
Sandra Scherer
Jon Schler
Kent & Janet Searl
Hilary Sinnamon
Erin Spletzer
Arianthé and Paul Stettner
Frances Taylor
Judith Wagner

About Colorado Preservation, Inc.

Colorado Preservation, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that promotes historic preservation statewide by providing advocacy, education, outreach, and preservation services to communities and individuals. Our vision is to engage citizens across Colorado to honor and protect their heritage, to lead them to build a sustainable future with historic places, and to inspire them to prioritize the past as legacy.

2020 Dana Crawford and State Honor Awards Event

2019 Dana Crawford and State Honor Awards Event

Download PDF of awardee archive 1988–2020.

Donate to CPI

We hope you will extend your appreciation for Colorado's heritage by helping us take advantage of this $1 to $1 matching campaign. Learn more about our matching campaign and make your tax-deductible donation today!

Matching Campaign

Thank you to our donors for this matching campaign!


Hannah Braun

Laurel Campbell

Nore Winter

Peter Grosshuesch

Matt Goebel

Andy Duckett-Emke

Kelly and Peter Merrion

Blair and Chris Miller

Keith and Carmen Willy

Mike and Anne Coughlin

Steven Turner and  Steven Kick

T. Drew Notestine


Elaine Freed

Megan Concannon

Nicole Hernandez

Ron and Linde Thompson

Dan Corson

Lucas Schneider

Jon Nathan Schler

Jane and Phil Watkins

Ariel Steele 

Kimberly Kintz

Lisa A. Stegman

Graham Johnson

James and Joan Kroll

James Hewat

JoVonne P. Fitzgerald

Jennifer Wahlers

Stephen Blitz

Arianthé Stettner

Ann Mullins

R. Michael Bell

Nan and Dave Anderson

Patrick Eidman

Beverly Rich

Jane Daniels

Kaaren Hardy

Cynthia Pond

Rheba Massey

Katherine Woods and Christopher Koziol

Dave Lively

Paul O’Rourke

Lisa May

Sally Hopper

Ann Alexander Walker

Julie Johnson


Judith W. Amico

Featured Project

Preservation for a Changing Colorado

The 2017 update, Preservation for a Changing Colorado, resulted from a partnership between Colorado Preservation and History Colorado and Colorado Preservation, Inc. Prepared by Clarion Associates, the new report and accompanying website document the economic benefits of rehabilitation projects, analyzes property values and neighborhood stability in local historic districts, and summarizes the increasing impact of heritage tourism, private preservation development and the success of Colorado’s Main Street program. In a key finding, researchers found that for every $1 million spent on historic preservation in Colorado leads to $1.03 million in additional spending, 14 new jobs, and $636,700 in increased household incomes across the state! The 2017 report also considers the important role preservation plays in helping Coloradans provide new spaces for creative communities and co-working, create and sustain meaningful places, respond to the state’s changing demographics, and address climate concerns. Click Here to see the full report, "Preservation for a Changing Colorado".