2022 Dana Crawford and State Honor Awards

DCA2022 Main Presentation Side 2

_MG_7840Colorado Preservation, Inc. celebrated the 2022 Dana Crawford & Alpine Bank State Honor Awards on June 9, 2022, with 250 attendees and many more donating to celebrate the awardees, including this year’s Dana Crawford Awardee, Tim Schultz. Thank you to all our dedicated supporters.
CPI celebrated the successes of historic preservation in many different iterations through our awardees. The awards event was held at Denver Botanic Garden’s Freyer-Newman Center. Brian Vogt, the Botanic Garden’s CEO, was our master of ceremonies. His warmth and humor made everyone feel at home in a stunning venue!

The 2022 awardees are:

Dana Crawford Award Recipient: Tim Schultz


Alpine Bank State Honor Award Recipients:
Black American West Museum (Denver County)
Alden Burch Naranjo, Jr. (Southern Ute Tribe)
B. Travis Wright (Preserve Rollins Pass)
Citizens Bank – Ouray (Ouray County)

Preservation Edge Award: FREIGHT Leadville (Lake County)

Endangered Places Progress Award: Tabor Opera House (Lake County)

DCA2022 Playlist ThumbnailView all the awardee videos on YouTube.

A particularly moving part of the program came when Alden Burch Naranjo, Jr. was awarded a posthumous Alpine Bank State Honor Award accepted by his expansive and loving family. More than 20 relatives, Southern Ute Tribal members, and Chairman Melvin J. Baker attended to support Cassandra Atencio (Naranjo’s daughter) in receiving the award. When accepting the Dana Crawford Award, Tim Schultz notes preservation goes back millennia in Colorado.


The evening’s success also can be attributed to a host committee whose members included Ashley Bushey, Tony Caligiuri, Dana Crawford, Deedee Decker, James Hewat, Margaret Hunt, Mary Jane Loevlie, Blair Miller, Greg Movesian, Barb Pahl, Tim Schultz, and Jane Watkins.


DCA Sponsors