2019 Dana Crawford and State Honor Awards Celebration

Thank You for Your Presence & Support!

Colorado Preservation, Inc. was honored to host over 320 individuals who joined us Monday in recognizing Dana Crawford Award recipient, W. Bart Berger in addition to six other awardees.  CPI’s annual DCA and State Honor Awards allows us to highlight projects, individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions towards historic preservation.

Bart Berger
2019 Dana Crawford Award Recipient

Dana Crawford, the evening’s namesake, presented Mr. Berger with the award for his work with the Denver Mountain Parks Foundation and his work with Colorado Historical Foundation. Bart shared some remarkable comments at the event stating, “it is our job to promulgate an understanding of our underlying Colorado ethos and embed it in all the decisions we make as we go forward…the Proactive Preemptive Preservationist in me- looks to preserve the essential Colorado-ness the Denver-ness..amid the fray of this impending development and growth to communicate what it is. The best application of my personal effort is to accept growth, but not let it come at the expense of the basic social values that enabled it in the first place.”

Learn about the W. Bart Berger, the recipient of the 2019 Dana Crawford Award.
Denver Mayor Michael B. Hancock provided welcoming remarks and support to the
Colorado historic preservation community.

Many of you have asked for a copy of Bart’s comments, Bart has generously agreed to share with you the comments he made.

Click here to download and read Bart’s acceptance speech of the 2019 Dana Crawford Award.

View photos of the event and see your friends on Facebook here.

CPI appreciates all of your support and generous donations. Did you pass on the donation evelope at the event but still want to make a donation? You can do so online! Please be sure to note if the donation was made in honor of one of our outstanding awardees.

Watch for the May 2019 CPI newsletterFacebook and Twitter, and this webpage next week for links to view all the awardee videos. Click here to sign up for our newsletter.

Additional awardees celebrated at DCA were:

State Honor Awards



Estella Cole (Statewide)



The Redstone Castle (Pitkin County)



Yampa Valley Electric Association Building (Routt County)

Preservation Edge Award



Rocky Mountain Land Library (Park County)

Endangered Places Progress Award



Gold Medal Orchard (Montezuma County) and Montezuma Orchard Restoration Project

Hosting Committee
Mayor Michael Hancock, Honorary Chair

Bart Berger
Nicole Bopp
Ahsley L. Bushey
Chuck Cavness

Dana Crawford
Ruth Falkenberg
J. Kent Gervasini
Jim Kroll

Blair Miller
Ed Nichols
David Tryba
Stephanie Tryba

Thank You to Our Event Sponsors!

Preservation Champion Sponsors

Robert E. Musgraves & Joan Prusse

Supporting Sponsors

Patron Sponsors

Deedee Decker

Ruth Falkenberg

J. Kent Gervasini

Hendricks Financial Services

Dr. Stephen Johnson

JVA, Inc.

James Kroll

Phelps-Tointon, Inc.

Tax Credit Connection, Inc.

Arianthe Stettner